pst. hey you. Here it is. My story of incredible luck.

How did you become a VALIANT collector?

Moderators: Daniel Jackson, greg

adammikael
My posts can all fit in a short box
pst. hey you. Here it is. My story of incredible luck.

Post by adammikael »

Hey everyone. I figured post #2 should be a pretty great one to help "introduce" myself to this great community!

I started collecting VALIANT post-UNITY, when I was a sophomore in High School. I remember walking into our local Comic Shops and seeing a copy of HARBINGER #1 hanging on the wall with a 200$ price tag. A book that was barely a year old and already it was banking. I thought I'd never get to add these rare pre-UNITY books to my collection. MRF #21 was the first Valiant book I purchased and I collected nearly every issue I could get my hands on. I remember being so jealous of my friends who could afford to buy EVERY Valiant issue that came out, where as I could only afford 1/2 of the titles and knew I'd never got the full run of UNITY issues. I blame the downfall on DEATHMATE RED and Rob L at Image.
I stopped just after Chaos Effect. Harbinger #41 was the last Valiant book I bought on the news stand. I steered clear of the V2 series', figuring that nothing could compare to the stories Valiant put out in the early ninties.